12 ANGRY MEN

I just got a summons to serve on a jury. I have lived in The Netherlands for three years and I got a summons from my home town in Massachusetts to show up in April for jury duty. I guess word of my exit had not reached the courthouse.

Here in The Netherlands, there are no juries. There is no trial by jury in the courts. All court cases are decided by judges. It is a hard thing to get used to, as an American…to not have a jury system. But at least I will know that for many reasons, I will not be getting a Dutch summons.

In high school, my acting teacher showed us a film that is still one of my old favorites. He showed us 12 ANGRY MEN starring Henry Fonda. He said “if you want to know about acting, this is the film to see.” And he was so right. The entire film takes place in a jury room as they struggle to come to a verdict. After I got my summons, I remembered this fantastic film and it made me want to see it all over again.   

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • LadyGregory  On February 2, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    Personally, based on the quality of American juries, I’d rather have my case decided by a judge or group of judges.

  • judy savage  On February 3, 2014 at 12:25 am

    This is unbelievable, Jane. I just thought I would check my email before the movie starts – you’ll never guess what I am about to watch – 12 Angry Men is showing at this moment on Turner Classic Movies. Pass me a piece of candy…….

  • krunn7  On February 3, 2014 at 4:07 am

    They wouldn’t send a policeman to bring you back would they. What is the procedure when you can’t go? Do you have to let them know somehow?

  • janeduttonutrecht  On February 3, 2014 at 9:26 am

    I should have added that I went to the courthouse website and then had to actually call them. they then insisted that I fill out a form on the site as that is they only way they would accept my excuse for not showing up. so I am now legally not going to be there in april.

  • Stan  On February 4, 2014 at 12:26 am

    When I worked at the library i felt like I was working with 12 Angry Women every day – LOL!

Leave a Reply

