BLACKFISH

I am taking a few minutes to write a new post. My time is consumed by homework. I know I sound like a kid, but I am buried with school. My one Dutch class demands a lot of my time and of my brain, so I have two ways of rewarding myself: reading a novel and watching a movie or television show. Those are my treats for studying and I love doing both.

So I will be brief about just a few things. There are two new documentaries that are wonderful and very different. DEAR MR. WATTERSON is the story about the popularity of the fabulous comic strip Calvin and Hobbes, created by Bill Watterson. Watterson is not in the film and most people don’t know where he lives or what he looks like. But the focus is on the comic strip and many other cartoonists are interviewed.

BLACKFISH is about the use of Orca whales at Sea World parks. There has been a long history of concern about the whales living in captivity, and in a small space. The film raises two main issues: is it fair for Sea World to put their animal trainers in harm’s way (as many have been injured and some even killed) and is it fair for the whales to be living this life? The film builds their case very thoughtfully that this is not a good situation for anyone except the company who is making millions.

I just have to mention Tom Hanks. Everyone knows his work and has seen at least a few films he has been in. His list of films is astonishing because it is so diverse. I recently saw CAPTAIN PHILLIPS and I was completely entertained by the film. It is gripping, intense and you are very caught up in the story. But for me, I was so impressed by Hanks and how he came alive on screen. The audience has to feel what Hanks is going through, we have to be invested in this drama and how will or will not survive. It is a brilliant performance, please do not miss it.

Now back to studying the beautiful Dutch language….

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • LadyGregory  On December 6, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Excellent, useful suggestions, especially for Tom Hanks’s film. And beautifully written, as always.

  • krunn7  On December 6, 2013 at 2:41 am

    I raise a glass of egg nog to you. I admire your industriousness and understand the need to keep on learning.

Leave a Reply

