CARS

juni 30 2013 001

Since I have moved here, friends have been curious about the size of Dutch cars. People believe everything is super small here, and that is not so.  So here is a photo taken from our house of four cars. Three of them are average size and there are even bigger cars than these on the road (the silver car on the right is our car).  But what amused me was this little blue car. First of all, it is so small that it could pass for a bike with extra wheels. I thought a family of Smurfs were going to come out of the car…. But, to me, I was more interested in the parking job.  Was the driver in a big hurry or did they think that they were making space for a third vehicle?  We think that it was a visitor as we have not seen it before on our street, as it kind of stands out. Anyway, this gives a glimpse of the exciting world of parked cars.

By the way, this is a milestone for the blog. In two years of writing this blog, I can tell you that we are on the brink of having 30,000 hits.  I am not sure if that is significant to anyone but me, but there are readers from all over the world and I am happy to see the hits grow and grow. Thank you, dear readers.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nathalie in NL  On July 1, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Hi Jane, I think the tiny blue car is probably not a card at all! I have seen a lot of “cars” that are actually registered as a scooter because the engine capacity is so low. Thus avoiding road tax I guess!

  • Carol  On July 1, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    You have a nice looking car. I’ve often wondered the same thing. The little blue car… my hubby calls them “toys” or “pregnant roller skates”. Have a great day, Jane.

  • Anneke  On July 5, 2013 at 11:22 am

    @Natalie, all motorized vehicles pay roadtax, so it wouldn’t help a lot if you’d try to avoid them with a scooter. 🙂 But they are indeed scooters, they are mainly used by people who don’t have a drivers license, but who can’t cycle or walk anymore. 🙂

    • nathalieinnl  On July 5, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Ahh, that would make sense as a reason then – the other thing was a guess on my part.

Leave a Reply

