OTHER PEOPLE’S MONEY

When I was a teenager, my dad and I were going to go to the nursery to buy some things for the yard. This was a place our family went to on a regular basis and it was about a 10 minute drive. We lived in the hills of southern California and it was not a flat drive (like it is here in The Netherlands). As we were getting ready to leave, my dad put his coffee cup (coffee was still inside) on top of the car, as he wanted to check something before he got into the car.  When we arrived at the nursery we realized that the coffee cup was still on top of the car. We were quite stunned by this and my dad was impressed. He used this as an example of what a good driver he was and it was a lesson for me, as a soon to be driver.

So here is the point of the story. In The Netherlands, a man put his wallet on top of his car and forgot to take it before he drove away. Inside the wallet was three thousand euros. As he drove away, the wallet fell and the money flew out. Drivers stopped and picked up the money and I assume some onlookers did the same. A woman was seen catching the money and told the others that it was her money. That SHE had left her wallet on top of her car and her money was flying all over the place. So the people gave her the money they had gathered. Meanwhile, the original driver with the wallet, had stopped and had retrieved one hundred and sixty euros. He then found out that a woman had gotten his money and had already left with her husband and two children. He is still looking for his wallet and for all that was inside.  The police are now investigating and looking for this woman.

This incident makes me think of two things:  the absolute dishonesty of this woman and the quickness of her coming up with this story. She had to blurt out that it was her money in a matter of seconds, I would guess. How does someone do this and not feel remorse? How does someone do this in front of their children?

If nothing else, this blog is a public service announcement to warn drivers all over the world, be careful what you put on the roof of your car. Simply put, don’t place anything there. We all make mistakes and easily forget things. And sadly, this is a lesson in not knowing who to trust.

Sports news:  did you know that there is a Dutch baseball team? In Dutch, baseball is called honkball—I just love that word. The team played in the World Baseball Classic and lost in the semi- finals. They lost to the Dominican Republic, 4-1. The game was shown live on Dutch television at 2am. Honkball is not as popular as football and speed skating, but it is slowly gaining Dutch fans. Never before had a European team reached the semifinals before, they should be very proud of themselves. As much as I wanted the Dutch team to win the series, for me, there is only one baseball team: the Boston Red Sox. Honkball is in the winter and the Red Sox play in summer, thank goodness they do not conflict.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Terri D'Orsaneo  On March 21, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    A good read this morning, Jane! I hope the authorities find that woman, thought the money is probably all spent by now. Still, she should pay for stealing…and in front of her children. So sad.

    I love the work ‘honkball’, too!! A first for me! I wonder how they came up with that name? Interesting. Wishing you a good day!

  • zeldesse  On March 21, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    My son once found an Iphone that the owner had put on the roof of his car. He was apparently not such a careful driver as your father, as it turned out, it had fallen of in the first turn in the road. The glass was cracked, but it still worked fine. We managed to track the owner, who was very grateful.
    So yeah, don’t put stuff on the roof of your car…

  • krunn7  On March 21, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    I saw a fellow drive away and a camera fell off the roof. We couldn’t catch him so looked at the pictures looking for clues to his identity. All we found was a lot of raunchy pictures of what must have been a wild party. We never did find the owner.

  • janeduttonutrecht  On March 22, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    My information is correct. There are many different world tournaments. The Dutch won the 2011 World Baseball Championships. This recent tournament was different than the one if 2011. In America, we just have the World Series! And that makes it easier to keep straight.

  • natascha1108  On March 22, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    I’m sorry Reservebelg but you are wrong. The Dutch team won the Baseball World Cup in 2011. There was no Baseball World Cup in 2012. World Baseball Classic is a different tournament. This tournament was held this year and for the first time in history the Dutch team was the first European country to end up at the semifinals.

  • Stan  On March 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Your story reminds me of two different incidents. First, my sister once drove to the grocery store only to find her cat on the roof when she arrived! Whew! The other story doesn’t have such a happy ending. When I was a college DJ, I managed to lock my keys in my car one snowy evening. I borrowed a coat hanger, and after about ten minutes of wrestling, I got the door open and drove off, forgetting that I had laid my entire precious record collection on the roof. When I got home, I reached for my records and they were not there. In panic, I retraced my steps and ended up finding about a third of them scattered all over town. Even worse, most of the ones I recovered had studded snow tire tracks across the cover! It breaks my heart to this day.
    Honkball seasons starts here April 1, Sox vs Yanks! Yay!

Leave a Reply

