THE WORDS

We all know that you can have the most brilliant director and cast and still have a flawed or bad film. The bottom line is the script, it all depends on a great screenplay. Six out of the nine best films nominated for an Academy Award this year were books first. Today, many great scripts are based on a book.

Here is a list of books coming to a theatre near you this year. I am sure there are more coming at the end of the year, but these films will be here soon. Try to read the book first and no matter what, enjoy.

  • The wonderful wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum (the film is OZ: THE GREAT AND POWERFUL
  • World War Z by Max Brooks
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia
  • Carrie by Stephen King (this is a remake)
  • Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz
  • Labor Day by Joyce Maynard
  • The Host by Stephenie Meyer

 

Recommended reading: THE DINNER by Herman Koch. I reviewed this Dutch book last year and it has now been published in the United States. It is currently in film production here in the Netherlands. This book was a huge success here, over half a million copies were sold.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Karyn Bryson  On February 22, 2013 at 5:25 am

    I learned about your site from a contact in Florida. I work out of blogger under the name Krunn’s Site. My maternal grandmother came from the Netherlands to the US and then Dakotas. I look forward to getting your blogs if it works for me here in Canada in a rural ranching area.

  • Terri D'Orsaneo  On February 22, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for the reviews. I always try to read a book first, before seeing the movie. Books are always better! Karyn (above) is a blogging friend of mine, and Gerda referred you to me. I am enjoying your posts, and thought you and Karyn should also connect! Thanks again! Looking forward to getting to know you!

    • karyn  On February 22, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      I think I am following her now, just have to wait and see what comes in.

  • Carol Baird  On February 23, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    I also got the link to your blog from Gerda. I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts. Very good. I look forward to reading more, getting to know you and what your life is like there. Thank you for the book reviews. I’m an avid reader and often wish I could read faster. I have SO many book titles on my “to read” list. I just made note of a couple you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

