JANE’S BOEKENTIPS

IT’S A MYSTERY!

I love mysteries. I love reading them and love watching British television mystery series. It is always fun to discover a new mystery author, especially when she has more than one book out. Her name is Camila Lackberg and as of November 2011, she is the bestselling author in Sweden. Her books are translated in 33 languages and thank goodness that one of them is English. She has seven novels published but not all of them are in English-yet. Lackberg is considered the Swedish Agatha Christie and I can see why she is so popular.

I read THE STONE CUTTER and loved it. There are many characters and that means, many suspects. Lackberg’s books are part of a series with the same police force. I am usually a stickler about reading books in order, but this time I did not follow my own rule. This was an intense and shocking book that I could not put down and it was almost 500 pages. But the time flew while reading it. The first in this series is THE ICE PRINCESS.

I am going to share with you some other mystery authors that I have enjoyed through the years and let me emphatically say that this is just a sampling…there are lots and lots of fabulous mysteries out there. Think of this list as a brief buffet…

Here are just three popular writers of American female private detectives—Linda Barnes, Sue Grafton and Marcia Muller.

There are many southern crime novelists, but the two that spring to mind right now are James Lee Burke and John Hart.

British mysteries are abundant and much loved. These are stories that take place in Great Britain, but the authors are not necessarily British. I love Rennie Airth, Kate Atkinson, Charles Todd and Jacqueline Winspear. I know, I know…you are mumbling other names. There are too many to name right now…

I have to rave about Donna Leon. She has created a wonderful series with Inspector Brunetti in Venice, Italy. Leon makes Venice truly come alive with complicated crimes and in depth characterizations.

I cannot do a blog about mysteries and not mention the most talked about mystery of the year: GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn. Not only is this book a critical smash, but it is  extremely popular with readers. This is a book that hooks you right away and takes you on a very crazy ride. It is a book that meets the hype. And you cannot talk to anyone about it unless they have read it too.

So there you go…pick up a book, play a game of CLUE or watch a mystery on tv with a nice cup of tea.

Good news for fans of Foyle’s War, a wonderful British television that was a big hit in many countries. After this series was cancelled a few years ago, it has been decided to bring it back in 2013 for three more episodes. Fans know that in the last episode the war had ended, and the new shows will pick up right after the second world war.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jean  On December 15, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    I can’t wait for got keys war!!!

  • inke  On December 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    brunetti and paola always make me hungry! The description of lovely lunches at home or in a trattoria, mmmm.

Leave a Reply

