FAREWELL, MY LOVELY

When I was 10 years old, our family moved from Europe to California. This was a very hard adjustment for me, as I tried to learn American pop culture and “fit in”. The one very positive thing about this transition was discovering American television, especially a show about four members of a band, called The Monkees.

I have just learned about the sudden death of Davy Jones. This does not seem possible, because he is locked in my memory bank, as this young, cute boy. Davy Jones was beyond cute and charming. He always stood at the front and played the tambourine or maroccas, and of course he sang. I confess that he was not my favorite—my guy was Micky Dolenz, the drummer.

In my bedroom, I had a wide closet with plenty of space to tape posters. On these doors I have photographs from the popular magazine Tiger Beat, and there were the Monkees. And  next to them was Bobby Sherman, another singer and actor who was red hot at the time. I didn’t say prayers when I went to bed, I said good night to the cute boys on my closet doors.

My mother had a big old hat box and when I was alone in the house, I would play that hat box like I was a drummer like Micky Dolenz and I sang all of their songs. When Davy sang, I sang. For a few years, Monday nights were all about The Monkees.

Who can forget Davy guest starring on The Brady Bunch? We were all so jealous of Marcia Brady. Davy seemed so nice and appealing. Many years later, I went to a reunion concert of three of the four band members. Never did I believe that I would ever see them in person. I wasn’t a little girl anymore, and it did not matter. All of us had aged, including Micky, Peter and Davy… and they gave us a great night of memories.

His death is the end of a joyous memory lane. I am grateful to this band and the Tiger Beat fandom, as it helped me on many levels. The bottom line is that they made me happy. And now, I remember them with much fondness and gratitude. I am playing their music today and smiling…and yet still sad for the loss of a daydream believer.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lori Welch  On March 1, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Amen. Mickey Dolenz was on Good Morning America this morning talking about his friend for so many years. He said that the Monkees was a tv show about a bunch of misfit failures who just happened to have a lot of love for each other. Hmm…we should all be so lucky.

  • jean  On March 1, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    so sweet. and i do remember marsha brady! it’s an end of an era!

  • Aledys Ver  On March 2, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Beautiful words to remember Davy, Jane. I got to “know” him late in life when my interests in music, films, etc. started to go beyond the Argentinean borders 🙂 May he rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

