THE OSCAR

By now, everyone has an opinion on the Academy Award nominations. I would guess that most people have seen many of the nominated films and performances or they are determined to go to the theatre before February 26 and see just one more film. I love this time of year, not because of winter, but because there are so many great films to enjoy.

I have seen 8 of the 9 films nominated for Best Film, and would see the last one if it would only get to the Netherlands. And I have seen many of the fabulous performances by men and women. But I am not 100% happy. There were some glaring omissions to the list of nominations and I found that to be confusing and frustrating. I will just share a few close to my heart.

Tilda Swinton starred in We need to talk about Kevin. This is a very painful movie to watch, but very much worth the view. I don’t know many actors who could have done what Swinton had done with this role. Her character was so realistic…so sad and heartbreaking at times. I wanted to reach across the screen and shake her and say “wake up”! She never underplayed or over played the role and for that she should have been one of the five nominated women this year.

Jim Broadbent played Dennis Thatcher in the Iron Lady and he has been under rated in this film. But he had a huge challenge with this role and he did it beautifully. Meryl Streep could not have pulled off her magnificent performance if she did not have Broadbent. He held his own with her and then some.

The category that shocked me the most was Best Animated Feature. How is it possible to have two fabulous films NOT even be nominated?! I am talking about The Adventures of Tin Tin and Arthur’s Christmas. These are my two favorite animated films of the year and I am completely baffled by the snubs. Both were different kinds of animation process, but both were creative, energetic and completely entertaining. And I thought they were both were very original.

I am sure that there are many other films or actors that you feel were ignored. Please vent by telling us what bothered you about these nominations. I would love to hear from you. But no matter what, I have really loved many of the films that are nominated. The power and magic of a good film was evident this year: a black and white film about movie making and  finding your true self, the magical world of a train station and the authentic story of women and race that still confounds people. “Did this really happen in America?” has been asked over and over again, and the answer is still the same: open your eyes and you will know it is true. Films make us the see the truth even when we say we don’t want to look. It is with a story, costumes, music and actors: but there is also truth.

Recommended viewing: if you have not seen Albert Nobbs, I urge you to go to the theatre. Wonderful performances by Glenn Close,  Janet McTeer and the entire cast.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aledys Ver  On February 21, 2012 at 10:31 am

    I haven’t seen “We Need to Talk…” yet, unfortunately, it’s coming to Zwolle in mid-March. She was nominated for the BAFTAs but she lost to Meryl Streep. It sounds like she did a very good job, pity that she’s been overlooked for the Oscars.
    I absolutely agree with you about Jim Broadbent, he was certainly brilliant in The Iron Lady!
    Unfortunately, I haven’t seen many of the films that have received nominations yet… there’s too much good stuff to see in a very short period of time and it’s difficult to do all the “homework” before the ceremony.
    A film I definitely want to see is “In Darkness”, the Polish film nominated for Best Foreign Language Film, it sounds interesting.

  • Sandra  On February 26, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    Yesterday I took my 7 year old granddaughter to see “The Adventures of Tin Tin”. The colors were just beautiful, the story was a good one, and we laughed often and loudly at the fine silliness. We were both glad to have seen it. Thanks for your good suggestion.

Leave a Reply

