JANE’S BOEKENTIPS

TO BE SUNG UNDERWATER by Tom McNeal

Judith’s parents have separated and after trying to live with her “free spirit” mother in Vermont, Judith decides to move to Nebraska to be with her father. He offers her more stability and normalcy, which is what she wants. In this small town, she meets Willy, who is a carpenter and a young man who is clearly crazy about Judith. They have a love affair that leads to the promised dreams of marriage. But Willy wants to live in Nebraska and Judith (and her father) have plans for her that do not involve going to college in Nebraska.

Twenty years later, Judith is living in southern California, married and a mother. She has not seen Willy since the day she left for college and he is always on her mind. She has doubts about her marriage and about what she wants, and these doubts impact everything. What has happened to Willy and could she contact him? And would he want to hear from her? Does Judith even know what she wants?

This book was an absolute pleasure to read. The writing is just perfect, I mean, this is a perfect novel. Tom McNeal has created a female character that is three dimensional and authentic. In fact all of the characters are very well developed and the plot keeps you engaged throughout to the very surprising and emotional end. There are many surprises and  beautifully written passages that makes this is a novel you will not forget.

Bottom line:  I loved this book and I think you will too.

Recommended reading: The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weisgarber. I read this book when it was first published a few years ago and simply loved it. I just found out that the fabulous actor Viola Davis has optioned this book so that she can do the film and, naturally, play the lead character. What glorious news this is! This historical novel will make a great film and with Viola Davis involved, you know it will be something special.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aledys Ver  On February 17, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    It sounds like an interesting read, Jane. THanks for sharing this tip here.
    Great that we’ll get to see Viola Davis in a new film; definitely something to look forward to seeing on the big screen.

  • Kristy  On March 6, 2012 at 2:49 am

    Hi Jane – I’ve been a lurker of your blog since you started. I am Amy K’s daughter from Holden. I was so upset when you left the Gale Free as my mom always mailed me “Jane’s picks”. I said to her ‘What will I read???’ Lol. I read this one (To Be Sung Underwater) and it has stuck with me for a week. What a story. I didn’t love the ending, but it must have been an amazing book to keep coming back into my mind! Also read “Rachel Dupree” Which I thought was fabulous!

  • Tuyet  On May 3, 2013 at 3:41 am

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same
    comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

    • janeduttonutrecht  On May 3, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      hello, I am sorry to say that I cannot control this. this feature is something that you have to turn off and not me. sorry I could not help more.

      jane dutton

Leave a Reply

