IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE

I think I was a very gifted child, for when I was born I was able to read. As a matter of fact, I would not be surprised to find out that I was born with a book in my hand. My mother has often told me what a difficult birth it was, now I know why: I was wedged in there with a book clasped in my tiny hands. Bookmark, anyone?

I do know that I have loved to read from an early age, and if I could not understand the book, I just liked looking at the pages. It was meant to be that I became a librarian, because not only was there much joy in having books at my fingertips, it was wonderful to put books in people’s hands.

The act of reading is truly one of the greatest pleasures of my life. So I am sharing with you my wish list. These are the books that I want to read. I have read the reviews and I am determined to read these new novels. If you are looking for books to buy for others or trying to make your own wish list, this might help. And of course all of these books should be in your local library.

At dinner every night, our ten year old boy, with silverware in hand, says “eet smakelijk!” which means enjoy your food. And so I say to you, enjoy these books as, rumor has it, they are a wonderful gourmet meal.

  • LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  • MARRIAGE PLOT by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • ART OF FIELDING byChad Harbach
  • NIGHTWOODS by Charles Frazier
  • V IS FOR VENGEANCE by Sue Grafton
  • 11/22/63: a novel by Stephen King
  • PARISWIFE by Paula McLean
  • TO BE SUNG UNDERWATER by Tom McNeal
  • CAT’S TABLE by Michael Ondaatje
  • FAR TO GO by Alison Pick
  • DEVIL ALL THE TIME by Donald Ray Pollock
  • EMPEROR OF LIES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
  • MAINE by J. Courtney Sullivan
  • HOUSE AT TYNEFORD by Natasha Solomons-this book was published in the UK as THE NOVEL IN THE VIOLA. It will be in theUSA at the end of December with this new title. I loved this book.
  • SALVAGE THE BONES by Jesmyn Ward

 Enjoy, everybody!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • aledysver  On November 28, 2011 at 12:03 am

    I have “Nightwoods” but I haven´t had a chance to read it yet; and I also have “The Language of Flowers” and “Cat´s Table” on my wish list… let´s see how we like them!
    Did you put these books in order of interest…?
    I´ve been reading a lot in Spanish lately. Despite bringing my Kindle with me,on arriving at my parents´ house I found some new books my mum had bought during the past year and of course, I could not resist. I´ve discovered an author from Córdoba who writes historical novels and I have been devouring those.
    People I talk to these days, wonder what´s got into me, bec. I sometimes come up with archaic Spanish words or phrases 😀 They´re saying, “that´s what going to live abroad does to you” 😀
    THanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

