NUTS

The Dutch television news is pretty serious. There is not a lot of chit chat among the news people and they basically get right to the point. Very Dutch of them.

The other night I saw a news story that literally made me drop my jaw and watch in stunned silence. In celebration of bike naked day (and support of the environment) in the Netherlands, a group of people spent a Saturday bicycling completely naked. And it was a rainy day so most of them had packed handy little see through plastic ponchos.

The part that made my eyes bug out was that the news story showed everything. I mean we saw all the bits and pieces and even the kibble and bits. The Dutch term is that they were “wearing their Adam and Eve costume.” The nude bikers were being interviewed about their adventure and they didn’t seem to care about the rain. There was even a tight shot of someone’s buttocks that I would guess had easily felt the hot sun for over 70 years.

As I watched this news story, I was thinking that this would never air in America. The Boston news channels would have covered the event, but they never would have shown any nudity. I mean, this would not even be on cable. The Dutch constantly surprise me. I have seen television at 2am and there are naked women talking to the camera and inviting you to call them. Like having the red light district in your own home. Don’t have time to tour the houseboats? Just put on the TV, get out your cell phone and get a thrill. But the bicycle story was on the regular news and aired at 8pm, and once I got past the shock, it wasn’t that big a deal. The only thing that I thought about after the newscast was I hope that those bikes were not rentals.

Here is another news story: a woman was pulled over for weaving in and out of her lane. She was arrested for suspicion of drunk driving. She had a three year old with her. And she was riding a bicycle.

The first story was about nude activists who rode bicycles. They were doing nothing illegal and it all seemed pretty harmless. The second story, was indeed illegal. And stupid. One news story may have shocked me, but it also made me smile. The other story just made me angry and sad. And life goes on…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • aledysver  On June 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    When a Dutch person watches American TV and they see how the audience is “protected” from nudity and profanit, they think that is odd… THere’s no fuss here about showing nudity and everyone can choose the level of protection they like best, no one else has to do it for them – they think. So you see, the amazement works both ways! 😀

  • Carolyn in MA  On June 30, 2011 at 12:39 am

    Jane, Your blog continues to make me smile…so glad for all of your new adventures…….Enjoy….Carolyn

  • Loree Griffin Burns  On July 19, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    What? No padded biking shorts? Eep. I would have to walk.

    Loree
    xo

Leave a Reply

